Is It OK For Christians To Swear?

Our language is what we use in order to communicate with other people. It is important for us to communicate in order for us to convey a message or to be understood. But there is a very common issue that e deal with every day regarding the use of the language. People are wondering if it is ok for Christians to swear or to speak bad words.
I am a Christian but one of the problems I face every day is my foul mouth. I really can’t stop myself from swearing especially when I get mad or I’m pissed into something. It just comes out of my mouth especially when I’m arguing with someone and I am trying to prove a strong point. What should I do to avoid it?

*Is it Ok for anybody to swear to let people know that they are mad? I tell you on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak. For by your words will you be justified and by your words will you be condemned. (Matthew 12:16)

This Bible verse only proves to show that it is not ok for you to cuss. It simple teaches us to be careful with the words that we use because words are powerful and it can make or break a nation. Our words are so powerful that it can be a basis for our judgment. The Bible says that you’re gonna be having to give an account for every careless word that you speak so you must carefully chose your words.

*What is wrong with using foul language? Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouth but only such as is good for building up as fits the occasion that it may give grace to those who hear. (Ephesians 4:29)

You might say that they are just the same as speaking since you are using words. But the difference with swearing is that the intention of the language that you use is probably offensive or hurtful to hear. The Bible’s standard for our speech is that it be the kind of loving speech that builds up and gives grace and not to hurt the feelings of the one you are talking to. So talk is corrupting when it doesn’t build up, when it doesn’t give grace. I think what the Bible does is it puts foul language; it puts cuss words into the category of words that never build up.
I guess that explains your question of whether it is ok for Christians to swear or not. Why don’t we just use our language in making others feel good instead? So it is definitely not ok for you to cuss.

3 thoughts on “Is It OK For Christians To Swear?

  1. I am not Christian but I believe any god didn’t made our language, yes we consider Athena or Saraswati as goddess of knowledge but all these characters gave us voice not the language. So I believe its okay to

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.